03.12.13

Big news around these parts! My daughter, who is a senior in high school, just got accepted into the college she has been in love with for several years.  We had a huge celebration here at the house which included a cookie cake and her favorite dinner of grilled chicken, broccoli and pasta! Good stuff!

Woohoo! Ali is going to be an Aggie!

Woohoo! Ali is going to be an Aggie!

This past weekend Tommy & I had a weekend alone which was really nice. All couples should do this at least once a year if not more if you can possibly swing it.  We had some great conversations and were able to talk about things that we can’t talk about when others are around. I treasured every single moment!

Saturday night we went and bought a whole bunch of different cheeses, some bread and some meats and made ourselves a cheeseboard for dinner. It was delicious! And, surprise surprise I even had some wine. Woah!

Absolutely delicious! We need to do this more often!

Absolutely delicious! We need to do this more often!

What a great weekend! I can’t wait to do it again! 🙂

I’m working on my March goals and keeping the momentum going even though it’s very difficult to do so after a weekend of just hanging out and eating things that I didn’t log or measure. I have to admit that it feels good to not be so in control sometimes but I know that it’s not how I want to be and it’s not how I’m going to get to my overall health & fitness goals.

This morning I was back on the wagon and moving the train down the track – as it should be. Started the day off strong with coffee and the following breakfast:

Whole grain english muffin with 1 tbsp crunchy pb and a small glass of the best oj ever invented. I thought I'd eat this banana but I didn't. 290 calories.

Whole grain english muffin with 1 tbsp crunchy pb and a small glass of the best oj ever invented. I thought I’d eat this banana but I didn’t. Not pictured: heavenly coffee. 290 calories.

Lunch was easy – and fast which was good because I was definitely feeling grumpy and not wanting to eat something healthy. But I worked through it and ended up eating this…

Amy's frozen burrito with ketchup, a handful of buffalo bleu chips and unsweetened apple sauce.  480 calories.

Amy’s frozen burrito with ketchup, a handful of buffalo bleu chips and unsweetened apple sauce. 480 calories.

Pre-workout snack: Alexis made a smoothie that I had heard about from Laura which included very easy steps! 1 cup milk, 1 frozen banana and 2tps PB2 (I used regular peanut butter since I haven’t tried PB2 yet). The smoothie was amazingly wonderful and something that I would LOVE to actually eat everyday.  So so good! Thanks Laura! Total calories for smoothie: 436. I definitely need to find some type of peanut butter alternative!

I went to make some tuna sandwiches for dinner but found out – a little late in the game – that we were out of pickles. What the?? So I begrudgingly made tuna salads. The theme for today is “Nicole is not happy with the food she’s eating.” Obvi. I get in these moods but I want a TON of credit for not caving and eating ALL THE THINGS!

Workout for today was amazeballs.  Zumba with Alexis and we had a fantastic workout. 445 calories burned in the 50 minute class.  Sweet!

Here were my totals for the day:

This makes me smile even though I'm being a Ms. Pouty Pants about the food today. All totals were within range.  Woo!

This makes me smile even though I’m being a Ms. Pouty Pants about the food today. All totals were within range. Woo!

Finally, I entered another Dietbet! I’m looking to lose 4% in 4 weeks.  These Dietbets are great motivation. I won just over $40 with the last one so I’m hoping to increase that this time. Maybe I’ll double my money.  Also, this time I’ll spend it on something that I can actually see and not just leave it in the account.  Wish me luck!

I’m looking for any and all advice/tips/tricks to survive Alexis going off to college this summer!

About Nicole2112

A 30-something girl with a goal in mind and a plan to achieve it. Loves: movies, pop culture and her family!
This entry was posted in alexis, exercise, food, recap, Tommy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 03.12.13

  1. Laura says:

    Cup twins! Happy you are back at it 🙂

Leave a Reply

