Life is so much better

Life is so much better when technology works my way. Our laptop has been on the fritz for several weeks and this has severely affected my blogging time. I just hate being away from the family once I get home for the day and I don’t ever update my blog from work so it’s been rough. But hopefully now that my laptop is working again I’ll be able to update more regularly.

Catching up on the end of the week after Valentine’s Day goes a bit like this:
– Work
– Mom taxi
– bachelorette party
– shoe shopping
– church
– exercise

My very very very good friend Allison is getting married in a couple of weeks and we had her bachelorette party last night.  Lots of girls, dressed up having a great time over dinner & drinks. What is better than that?

We met at La Condesa which is an incredible Mexican restaurant downtown. I hadn’t been there before but fell in love with it – decor, location, food & all. I enjoyed our time there and I can’t wait to go back – and take Alexis, of course!

The reservations that we had were for the Flour Room which is in the basement of the restaurant. It was absolutely beautiful! Hardwood stairs, walls made of rock and a long narrow room that comfortably sat our entire party of 13.  The room used to be part of an old brewery and, once upon a time, a general store. I’m sure this room could tell a lot of stories!

Our menu was pre-fix and covered just about everything I was hoping to taste while I was there.  Absolutely delicious!

Green beans, black beans, rice and Mexican street corn. Wonderful!

Fruit crumble with homemade whipped cream. To say it was delicious would be an understatement.

Add some chips and salsa and several cocktails and that was my dinner. 🙂  The bachelorette seemed to have a great time! Don’t you think?

The tiara suits you well, Allison!

The group started some bar hopping after dinner but I could only last for one drink & one shot before I headed home.  Irish Car Bomb, anyone?

Step 1) drop Baileys shot in Guiness. Step 2) Drink it down fast.

It was fun! I just can’t hang downtown like the old days.

Got up this morning & made breakfast for the family before church. I love lazy Sunday mornings drinking coffee & talking. The best conversations happen during this time.

My view in church this morning - starting a new series.

New series in church for the next 6 weeks. I’m really looking forward to it. I need lots more of the word in my life these days.   After church we ran to the maul to get Alexis a new pair of shoes. She has been drooling over these shoes and they are so adorable – we had to get them!

What's gold and sparkly? These adorable shoes, of course! Do you like?

After shopping Alexis had a meeting for the internship she’s doing and while she was busy with that I spent some serious time at the gym. I feel amazing afterward.  Evening workouts are so much more productive for me than morning workouts. I’m trying the mornings too but evenings I just feel so much better!

This was my second workout of the week and I am desperately trying to get my mojo back. I’m working toward it and I’m trying my hardest to find the energy in these crazy times. I know that there are no excuses so I’m not making any – I’m just putting it out there.  My life, work, and overall schedule has seen some rough times these days but when you want something – you work at it.  That’s what I’m doing.

Today’s food was a tad over the allowed amount but I worked a bit more than what was expected.

Workout:
15 minutes on the elliptical
30 minutes on the treadmill
10 minutes stretching

I wish I could remember the source for this but I wanted to share it anyway. If you know the source, feel free to remind me and I’ll link it. Until then:

Word.

 

About Nicole2112

A 30-something girl with a goal in mind and a plan to achieve it. Loves: movies, pop culture and her family!
This entry was posted in eating out, exercise, food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

