Happy Hearts Day

I love Valentine’s Day! You can argue that it’s a “made up” holiday (weren’t they all made up at some point?) but I adore a day that we set aside time and energy and show people how much we love them.  The gifts don’t have to be expensive and they don’t even have to cost any money at all – just spending time with a loved one is considered a gift to me.

With that being said I LOVE going all out for Valentine’s. I start asking Tommy about a week in advance what we are going to do for the day – when can I steal some alone time with him, are we exchanging gifts, etc.  I’m never disappointed. Tommy always treats me right!

This year we decided to celebrate with our romantic dinner the night before the actual day so we went to dinner last night. It was the perfect idea, too, because then I could wake up Valentine’s Day morning remembering our evening and not have to fight with the crowds and reservations for a dinner on the actual day.

Tommy made reservations at a small little restaurant here in our town that is known for good quality food. We hadn’t been there before but we were excited to try it out. We had met the owner of the restaurant  at a school charity event last year and he was incredibly supportive of the activity that Alexis was in – it was time we returned the favor!

Our dinner was a hit! We started off with a pear spinach salad drizzled with a balsamic reduction and a small amount of blue cheese.

If it says "balsamic reduction" on the description I know I'm going to love it. There was also hearts of palm chopped up in there.

One of the Valentine’s Day Specials was a fresh Red Fish sauteed with artichoke hearts, mushrooms and capers. I debated between this and the vegetarian plate but chose this when the waiter told me I wouldn’t be sorry.

He was right! I wasn't sorry I ordered it -very tasty! The rice wasn't the best so I skipped it but the fish was delish!

We are always suckers for a molten lava cake when it’s on the menu at a restaurant so we decided to order one here.  It was pretty good. Not as good as some of the others that I’ve had but it was good!

Melty fudge goodness just screams Valentine's Day!

On our way home from dinner we decided to exchange Valentine’s instead of waiting until today.  We can never wait. 🙂 I didn’t mind at all because I was dying to give Tommy his bag of treats – and Alexis too!

Tommy’s goodies:

Dark chocolate covered almonds and a couple of surprises.

The beer was in the bag and in the red tissue paper. I also included some nuts and some chocolate pieces not shown.

Can you see the name of the beer on the left? It’s called “Sisyphus”. Alexis and I saw this in the grocery store and couldn’t believe that it looked so much like syphilis! I had to buy it immediately. I couldn’t stop saying, “I’m giving Tommy syphilis for Valentine’s Day!” Gawd, I’m so mature.

Tommy's homemade card with a Starbucks gift card inside. His favorite!

Alexis’ treats:

A box of chocolate of course and some hidden yumminess!

Gum, chocolate, an iTunes giftcard and a statue of Big Ben!!

What do you think was her favorite part of her gifts?

I can't wait to take her to London to see the real thing!

It's true - life is wonderful with her in the world. 🙂

I got some schtuff too from my Valentine!

Whitman's - my favorite.

And a card which had words that completely melted my heart.  All I ever want out of life is to be a good wife and mother – this card made me feel fantastic about how I’m doing so far.  It’s the best card I’ve ever received… 🙂 (Sorry, sapfest)

Pretty words...pretty card.

Click to make it bigger so you can read the words.  Yup – I totally cried.

Alexis wanted to make valentine’s for her two best friends so she got to work and knocked out two awesome cards in about an hour. She did an amazing job and then packaged them up without taking a picture. Sheesh!

This is what concentration looks like.

(The paper we used for our valentine’s day cards from the Yours Truly paper line by Echo Park designed by Cassandra Cooper.)

Today the Valentine’s party continued when Tommy drove ALL THE WAY up to my work to take me to lunch and deliver me some beautiful roses!! What a sweetheart! My office is 45 minutes away from his – without traffic. Luckily he was traveling in the middle of the day when the commute is at it’s lightest. That doubles for me each way during rush hour.

He was so nice to come all the way up and see me – I really appreciated the sweet visit in the middle of the work day. I love that boy – more than words can say.

Gorgeous and bright red.

I hope that you have all had a great Valentine’s Day as well! What did your loved one do for you today to show you that they love you?

About Nicole2112

A 30-something girl with a goal in mind and a plan to achieve it. Loves: movies, pop culture and her family!
This entry was posted in alexis, crafts, eating out, food, holiday, Tommy and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Hearts Day

  1. Candi says:

    So sweet!!! You guys are so cute. And Nicole, it’s obvious to anyone who knows you that you’re a good wife and mother. So… WINNING!

  2. laura says:

    So sweet! I’m glad y’all had an amazing valentines day 🙂

Leave a Reply

