Hello kale chips

I’ve heard tons of people tell me how wonderful kale chips are. I’ve never had kale before and actually never even had it in the house.  To be honest, I think the only time I’ve seen kale was as garnish on a sandwich tray or something. Very pretty but how was it to eat? I had no idea.

Last week when I received my farm basket it had a bunch of kale in it and I knew instantly how I was going to cook it! “Chips”!

I asked my trusty healthy guru’s how they cook their kale chips and I got a couple of different ideas. I figured the first time I made it I’d just do it nice and simple. I washed the kale and dried it. I tossed it in olive oil and then doused it with sea salt. I laid it flat on two cookie sheets and baked it in the oven at 350* for 10 minutes.

As it was cooking I started to smell something that was similar to broccoli and I was kind of surprised – I had no idea that it was similar in taste to kale.  Interesting.

When we took out the cookie sheets it looked like this:

Nice, green and crispy! Just as a kale chip should be. Right?

We all gathered around and tried it for the first time.  Comments ranged from, “This is good” to, “Tastes like broccoli”.  I agree with both!  Overall I think we think they are just “okay” and probably wouldn’t go out of our way to make them again unless we had a recipe that was vastly different than what we made tonight.  We liked the texture and the crunchiness but the taste was just ‘okay’. Maybe next time I’ll put it on a salad or something different? Just eating it plain was kind of meh.

*************************

I did a horrible job at photographing my food today – my mind wasn’t really focused.

For breakfast I had coffee (of course) & made oatmeal. I put too much water in it and only ending up eating about half of it.

I didn’t plan my lunch very well and ended up having to grab something out.  I ordered a  taco salad from a local restaurant with charo beans. No too shabby.

Tommy made dinner tonight – cabbage soup! I absolutely love this recipe and Tommy makes it nice and spicey.
Ingredients for cabbage soup are: 2 heads of cabbage, potatoes, carrots, celery, zucchini & squash. Check it out:

Healthy and tasty!

Everyone loves it…I mean everyone!

Abbey wants some too...

Question: Have you had kale chips before? Do you love them?

 

About Nicole2112

A 30-something girl with a goal in mind and a plan to achieve it. Loves: movies, pop culture and her family!
This entry was posted in food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hello kale chips

  1. Ally says:

    I’ve recently tried kale chips and I thought they were pretty good. They were cooked like yours – olive oil and salt. I hate broccoli, so I don’t feel like it tastes like that. I don’t eat most vegetables, so the best I can say is that they are pretty good, but not so good I’m going to make them for myself.

  2. Laura says:

    Did you put nutritional yeast on the kale chips? that’s the best – they get all cheesy. I’m ADDICTED.

  3. i’m not a fan of kale chips and sometimes i feel like i’m the only one!

  4. I love Kale Chips! I wish they kept better, though! I only like them when they’re fresh out of the oven. They’re a great snack to get my through my mid-day slumps.

Leave a Reply

