MLK, groceries and bloggers oh my!

Vacation days are wonderful and welcomed at every turn! It’s important that we always take the time to remember why we have the day off from school and work.

I took the time to read some famous MLK quotes today and here is one of my favorites:

Now, I say to you today my friends, even though we face the difficulties of today and tomorrow, I still have a dream. It is a dream deeply rooted in the American dream. I have a dream that one day this nation will rise up and live out the true meaning of its creed: – ‘We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal.’Martin Luther King Jr., Speech at Civil Rights March on Washington, August 28, 1963

The day was wonderful and extremely productive.  Alexis and I got up and munched on some cold leftover pizza & coffee. We obviously have food critics taste buds, yes?   Then we got dressed and hit the grocery store before too many people would get there before us.

Alexis is always so helpful to me when it comes to grocery shopping.  I would have rather stuck a needle in my eye than to have gone grocery shopping with my mom at that age.  She, however, is always willing to help me compile the grocery list, go with me and help me put the food away.  I adore her.  There just aren’t enough words to explain how much.

She is so stylish when she shops even. *love*

I always love to see what people bring home from the grocery store so I thought I’d take some individual pictures of what I brought home as well.  This week the meal planning is as follows:
Monday: Italian Sandwiches & salad
Tuesday: Cabbage soup
Wednesday: Alexis & I will be out so Tommy will have cabbage soup leftovers
Thursday: Spaghetti
Friday: Mahi Mahi, veggies & potato

With that being said here are the ingredients for the meals plus breakfast & lunch for the 3 of us for the week.

Veggies - fresh & frozen. Small this time since I just got the veggie basket late last week

Dairy is a big group for us, apparently

Breads & Chips.

Fruits & juice. Adding to the grapefuit, pears & apples already in the fridge

Water, beer (for him) & fish

That was our haul for this week. Pretty typical for us.

After the groceries we headed into town for some lunch and to run some errands.  We stopped by Freebirds and had some extremely yummy grub. If we are keeping score then I would get another bonus point today for choosing not to include a tortilla with my salad bowl. I really really really wanted one but chose to be smart instead.  So painful.

Lunch = burrito veggie bowl from Freebirds

After lunch we ran some errands and messed around until it was time to meet up with one of my favorite bloggers – Laura!!

Laura was making a pit-stop in Austin on her way back home from being in San Antonio for a couple of days.  She designed said pit-stop so that she could stop and meet me! 🙂  Weeee!!  We have become great friends via Twitter over the passed few months and she has an incredibly inspiring blog that has become one of my favorites.  Since she was passing by and I had the day off of work it just worked out perfect that I would be able to meet her.

We met at Starbucks and sat and had some tea while we talked and learned so much more about each other than we could learn online.  It was fantastic to talk to her and see how much we really do have in common!

We talked and talked and talked and our quick little tea-date turned into a 3-hour in-depth conversation.  So much fun! I can’t wait until we can hang out in person again. I’m going to work on getting her and her boyfriend down here to do a little brewery tour of the town. That would be so much fun!

Me (left) & Laura. Such a sweetie! I loved our time together.

After our meeting Alexis and I ran our last couple of errands and then went home and made dinner – Italian sandwiches. Her absolute favorite.

Italian sandwiches & salad

It was a wonderful day and I’m so sad to see the weekend end. It was a great one! Tomorrow is back to work and back to the grind.

 

About Nicole2112

A 30-something girl with a goal in mind and a plan to achieve it. Loves: movies, pop culture and her family!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to MLK, groceries and bloggers oh my!

  1. laura says:

    Eeeeeeee I had such a great time with y’all today! Thank you so much for meeting me and the wonderful conversation! I can’t wait for our gchats!

  2. Props on skipping the tortilla!!! That is awesome 🙂 it’s little things like that, that will pay off big in the long run! Sounds like a fabulous day off – you deserved it!!!

  3. Candi says:

    Haha, you are too cute! Love seeing photos of you and Alexis.

Leave a Reply

