What’s been missing?

Control. I must take back control.

My food has been good. I’m hovering around 1000 to 1300 calories per day but I need to get back control and get my butt to the gym on weekdays.  It’s hard for me because I know that at work I’ll have a very long day ahead of me but I have to bite the bullet and get up and get to the gym before work.

I say that but it’s difficult.

*wine wine*
Are you tired of my wining?

I know that you have to put your goals first. I know that – I need to do it. In all aspects – food and movement.

Even if it means that I don’t get to snuggle with my husband for 45 more minutes in the bed. I have to get up and get my butt to the gym. But the bed is so comfy and it’s so easy….  Focus, Nicole. Focus.

Do what needs to be done.

Goals – keep them in mind.

**************************************

My day started with back to back meetings – again.  No time for breakfast. I will start taking a Cliff bar or something that I can just open if this type of thing keeps happening. I can’t go until noon without food.

I drank my coffee at 11:30 – right before lunch.  Thankfully my thermos kept it hot.  Score!

I sucked down about half of it before I thought to take a pic. I needed an iv of it by this point.

I brought leftovers from dinner last weekend. Basil pesto pasta with olives and artichokes.  It was awesome.  I had a hard boiled egg for protein.

I wonder if anyone from the parking lot saw me taking this picture. I can only imagine what they were thinking.

At about 4:00 I was ready for a snack.  These yogurts are my absolute favorite. They are just the right size and before you get tired of eating it – it’s gone.  I paired it with an apple.  No real rhyme or reason to my food today.

Tiny yogurt and tiny apple.

I got home pretty late and the family had already eaten dinner so I grabbed myself a plate and ate while we chatted.  Taco salads are one of my absolute favorite meals.  Yummmm!

Tortilla chips, black beans, cheese, lettuce, pico de gallo and some ketchup drizzled on top.

My Sparkpeople log for today:

I’m off to get in bed early to get myself to the gym in a timely manner tomorrow morning.  I am curious to know your answer to this question:

How do you keep yourself motivate to get to the gym when life is out of control around you?

About Nicole2112

A 30-something girl with a goal in mind and a plan to achieve it. Loves: movies, pop culture and her family!
This entry was posted in food, job and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s been missing?

  1. Allison says:

    This is a tough one & everyone’s motivators are different. Bed is warm. Snuggling is fun. Trying to remind yourself that in a few hours you’ll be disappointed in yourself if you don’t get up and get moving AND that you’ll miss out on the ohsoamazing endorphin high – post workout (that can help combat work craziness), is hard to channel when it’s cold outside and warm in bed! I am super goal focused AND visual (to-do lists are my FAVORITE!), when I got off track a while back, I created a chart on our refrigerator dry erase board. It had 7 columns (each day of the week) and 3 rows for 1) name of exercise (boot camp, yoga, running, etc) 2) a “check” for completing the exercise goal each day 3) my calorie deficit each day. I still kept track of my food & exercise in my deficit journal – like normal – but this little added touch (especially having it on the refrigerator) helped hold me accountable and got me back on track quickly! I didn’t want to “not” get a check mark and having it out there for everyone to see seemed to do the trick for me. Another idea/trick that works well too is having accountability at the gym (a workout group/buddy to meet or even a scheduled phone date with a friend on the way to your workout). Get back there tomorrow morning or Friday and start your weekend off right 🙂 Work doesn’t deserve your stress!

    • Nicole2112 says:

      Excellent point, Allison. The disappointment when you finally get up and around and think to yourself that you could be done with your workout if you had just gotten out of bed earlier is an awful feeling.
      I love your visual goals there – very good idea!

Leave a Reply

