Sunday funday

 

Sunday night – the saddest part of my week. Tomorrow is back to work and back to the grind.  Is everyone like that or is it just me?

I had a great day today! I was able to check one more item off my list which left one item left undone.

  • Mellow Friday night in with the family   – We ended up watching a couple of episodes of M*A*S*H & going to bed pretty early which we all needed. I felt great when I woke up this morning!
  • Saturday morning cardio workout – I moved this to after my coffee date but got an awesome workout in!
  • Coffee date/gift exchange with the bestie – So.Much.Fun! We needed a good 3 hours to catch up on our weeks and hang out together. It was awesome.
  • De-Christmasfy the house – I love Christmas and the reminder that it is over was making me sad. All gone now…
  • Sunday pre-church workout with Alexis – I didn’t get this one accomplished but I did get the much needed sleep that I needed.
  • Romantic dinner with the hubby – Fun dinner at Jeffrey’s with Tommy.  It wasn’t the best dinner I’ve ever had but it was nice to hang out with him for a couple of hours alone.

I will say that this weekends goals were a success!  I didn’t knock them out of the park but I am happy with the progress that I made.

This morning I had every intention of working out with Alexis but we got to bed kind of late and after having a wonderful night’s sleep (8.5 hours – I woke up 5x according to my Fitbit) I just couldn’t get out of bed.  I’m glad that I didn’t fight it though so it’s my only day of the week to sleep in – I was very grateful for it.

On the way to church Alexis & stopped by Starbucks for a breakfast wrap and a coffee.

Egg white spinach wrap....pure delicousness.

The wrap was fantastic – the coffee, however, was a bust. Alexis got a mocha which was more chocolate than coffee (maybe they forgot the espresso shot?) and I straight up had the wrong drink. I ordered a caramel macchiato and received a latte with 3 sweet & lows. I couldn’t drink since I don’t touch that stuff with a 10 foot pole. I was already too far away from Starbucks to let them know of the mixup.  Oh well – no biggie. They can’t be perfect 100% of the time. They are pretty darn close though.

After church Tommy & Ali went shooting and I went grocery shopping.  It’s so glamorous to be a mother.

I had myself a little treat while putting away the groceries!

Awesome lemonade from right here in Austin, TX.

After Tommy & Ali got home he got gussied up for us to go out to dinner.  We had purchased a Groupon for Jeffrey’s awhile back (a good 3 months, I think) and were waiting for a good time to use it. Since we didn’t really have one come up we decided to just use it this weekend and make a date night out of it.

We made reservations for 6pm and arrived a bit before so we had time for a drink and an appetizer in the bar area.  Tommy had a beer, I had a glass of wine and we shared the cheese plate.

3 different cheeses with pairings. They were all marvelous!

I’m not sure what the cheeses were since what was on the menu was different than what was served but it was wonderful nonetheless.  Candied pastachios, caramel toffee and granny smith apples were paired with the different cheeses.  We were impressed with the starter and couldn’t wait to see what was in store with the entrees. Tommy announced that he was adequately appetized and was ready for the meal. Heh. Love that boy.

We got to our table and were seated next to a table with 3 young kids. Yikes.  They were adorable as all get out but kind of a distraction. And really, who takes their young kids to a restaurant like that? You can’t possibly expect them to behave… right?

Tommy ordered the filet mignon and I ordered the fish.  It was presented very well!

Seared cobia with mashed cauliflower and marinated squash. The chopped olives were pretty good too!

I didn’t get a picture of Tommy’s filet but it was pretty as well.  You’ll have to trust me.  The flavors were good but we weren’t blown away.  I had just made fish a couple of nights ago and I honestly would stack my fish against this fish. It’s not as pretty but it sure had a much better taste.  Tommy thought his filet was good but was sure it wasn’t worth the price tag.

Before we could make an accurate judgement on the restaurant we had to try the desserts – I mean, duh.  So we ordered the chocolate torte with mouse and double chocolate ice cream.  It was the prettiest plate of the night.

Chocolate is always my favorite!

It was just okay. Neither one of us was blown away. The torte was good but the chocolate was the kind that you would find in your freezer section of the grocery store.  Not really so great.

Over all we had a great time together – that was the point.  As for the restaurant – the ambiance was not as romantic as I had hoped – maybe it was the kids? I was glad that I was able to experience the place that I had heard so much about since I moved to Austin but we probably won’t go back.  That’s okay though – we have a lot of restaurants that we love!

SparkPeople log for today. Even with the meal out I was within calorie range. Success!

Tomorrow is the start of another week. I’m going to make it a good one!

About Nicole2112

A 30-something girl with a goal in mind and a plan to achieve it. Loves: movies, pop culture and her family!
This entry was posted in eating out, food, goals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sunday funday

  1. Candi says:

    I had no idea Sweet Leaf was made in Austin! Love their sweet tea–never tried the lemonade.

Leave a Reply

