Check off those resolutions

The start of a new week has been successful.  What day are we in? Oh, it’s only Tuesday. Well, regardless it’s been a good week so far and I’ll take it!

Started off the morning strong by getting up and out of the casa by 6:20am.  Traffic was light to the gym and I was on a machine by 7:10.  Not too shabby.  My favorite morning show was back on the air this morning and that helped the workout along a bit.

35 minutes on the elliptical flew by (not really but we’ll say it did) and I rounded out the workout with 10 minutes of good stretching.  I’m hoping to keep the plantar fascitis at bay and stretching is key for that.

After work I was lucky enough to hit up a happy hour with a colleague of mine. A couple of glasses of wine later and we had talked about everything from working out to family life to Erin Condren.  I’m happy to report that she is sufficiently hooked on EC’s products and has already dipped her toe in the products and bought an iPhone case AND a life planner.  🙂 Love it!

They should hire me for PR, obvs.

You know, I didn’t notice the influx in January Joiners at the gym this morning like I thought I would.  There were more cars in the parking lot, sure and all of the dressing rooms were full (grrrr…….) but there was plenty of cardio machines to go around.  I was nervous about that. I definitely wanted to do the elliptical this morning and if there wasn’t a machine vacant I was going to be pretty perturbed but that wasn’t necessary – there was plenty to go around.  Sweet!

Tomorrow I’ll have to get creative with my workouts since I’ll need to be at work very early and we have a get together tomorrow night.  We’ll see.  I might have to walk stairs during my lunch hour. Ha! The looks I would get….

***************************

Food today was pretty good.   My post-workout breakfast was a Cliff bar that was brought by Santa during Christmastime.  He knows me and left a couple in my stocking!

I also brought my own coffee from home in my thermos. I'm hitting those 2012 goals hard! (Spending less money)

Lunch was a salad kit that I found at the store. Love these! They have the dressing, croutons and sunlower seeds all inside.  Plus, I added a can of tuna for the protein. Yes, I was “that girl” today that brought tuna to work.  So sue me.

Your perfume smells worse than my tuna.

My eyes were bigger than my stomach. I ate all the tuna but only half of the salad.

I had bad luck with my afternoon snack today. I bought a couple of gorgeous looking jonagold apples at the store on Monday and was looking forward to eating one today. When I went to cut into it, it was mealy and definitely on it’s way out.  It grossed me out big time. I only cut up half of it and then I only ate maybe 2 of the pieces that you see here.  Bummer.

Apple with the chocolate almond spread that I got a couple of weeks ago from my cousin.

At happy hour I had two glasses of white wine and some chips and guac/queso.  Delicous but not really a great dinner.  When I got home I had a 1/2 cup of pasta with some sauce.  Very little bit just while I was hanging with the family during our daily debrief.

Newman's Own Marina is the BEST sauce ever... Just fyi.

My workout and my food today were decent.  The workouts will ramp up as the week goes on and not every day has a happy hour. Unfortunately. 🙂

I'm always trying to hit that protein range.

Question: Did you workout today? Is your gym packed with January Joiners?

About Nicole2112

A 30-something girl with a goal in mind and a plan to achieve it. Loves: movies, pop culture and her family!
This entry was posted in exercise, food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Check off those resolutions

  1. Candi says:

    Laughed out loud at the “your perfume smells worse than my tuna” comment. Hahahaha!

    I didn’t notice any extra joiners Sunday or Monday night. Didn’t go today, just worked out at home. Why don’t you have machines at home, btw? Seems like you’d enjoy that a lot more.

    • Nicole2112 says:

      They are kind of expensive and I really don’t have my own room for anything like that. I do have a treadmill that I’ve borrowed from my in-laws but with my feet issues I can’t use the treadmill at all.
      What do you use at the gym?

      • Candi says:

        I use elliptical and run on the treadmill at the gym. And lift weights when I’m doing that.

        But I have a treadmill at home. And a recumbent spin bike, which you should get bc they’re only $200 and they won’t hurt your feet.

  2. Ashleysh22 says:

    See? I told you I would stop by later after #fitblog 🙂

    I LOVE that you have coined the term “January Joiners” – I totally remember those people back in the day when I used a gym. in fact I was probably one of them. I sucked at getting to the gym regularly. I did do my workout today though! Day 1 of Week 2 of Insanity.

    Nice to meet you!

  3. I so hate it when you have a pretty able and it tastes like nothing or is too ripe 😦

Leave a Reply

