Foodie Pen Pals December

Another month and another Foodie Pen Pals package and corresponding blog post!  It’s my third month in the program and this months package was a little different. Heh.

At the end of my post I’ll include a little rundown of the Foodie Pen Pal project and how YOU can join next month! (Even if you don’t have a blog!)

This month I sent a package to Katie over at Nutrition In A Peanut Shell. Go take a look at what I sent her this month!

This month I received a package from Kimberly at Badger Girl Learns to Cook! She did an amazing job. It’s 100% NOT her fault that my package ended up the way that it did. 😦 It’s also not her fault that I only actually received about half of the items that she put in the package.  Goodness.

The package was very well wrapped and seemed to have made it to my house in one piece.  Nothing indicates otherwise.  However, my incredibly smart and intelligent postman probably thought he was doing me a favor by putting the package by the garage.  This was not a good idea!

We had about a week of rain the week that I received the package and it was coming down pretty hard so the package got soaked in the spot the postman left it.  Then, as if that wasn’t enough to seal it’s doom, the little dog that runs loose from the house next door to us thought it was a present for her and started nibbling her way inside.

My husband came home from work and found the contents of the package (what was left of it) strewn about on the driveway. 😦  He picked it up and tried to put it together and this is what I saw:

Soaked to the core and missing some key ingredients.

Another look from the top

I was pretty bummed that my package was disheveled but I pulled out the items that remained and saw that I was actually pretty impressed by the leftover contents!

Here’s a peek at what made it:

So pumped at what made it!

Fig & Black Tea preserves! I haven't tried it yet but I'm looking forward to it during my break.

Oatcakes which were absolutely heavenly! Sort of like a butter cookie that I grew up eating but way more healthy. Perfect with hot tea! I need more of these in my life!

I fell so in love with these oatcakes that I went to Effies website and saw that they have crackers and nutcakes too! I plan on buying a sampling of all of them! I’m a huge fan!

Spicy mustard. I used some of this in the deviled eggs that I made on Christmas Eve. Everyone loved them!

Sun Dried tomatoes!

I am looking forward to finding a recipe to use those sun dried tomatoes on. Maybe a salad? I’m not sure. I’m open to suggestions.

Adorable card that was covered in glitter. I love glitter. Just call me Ke$ha.

A very wet but very sweet card!

When I read the card is when I realized what was missing out of the package – the homemade cookies and the chocolate.  Argh!!

Alexis got me worried about the doggie next door if she ate the chocolate so I called over to them and told them about the package and what was missing. They apologized profusely (not necessary, really) and said they would keep Coco (the dog) inside the house for the night and make sure that she was okay. I felt better about that.

They also showed up the next day with a bunch of cookies and chocolates to make up for the ones that went missing out of my box.  It was a very very sweet gesture and while I didn’t NEED any additional cookies or chocolate around the holidays the thought was there and I appreciated it very much.  We have great neighbors!

Thank you so much, Kimberly, for the wonderful package! I love it all!! I hope you scored a great package like the one you gave me!

***********************************

Do you want to get your own Foodie Pen Pals package too? Check it out:
-On the 5th of the month, you will receive your penpal pairing via email. It will be your responsibility to contact your penpal and get their mailing address and any other information you might need like allergies or dietary restrictions.
-You will have until the 15th of the month to put your box of goodies in the mail. On the last day of the month, you will post about the goodies you received from your penpal!
-The boxes are to be filled with fun foodie things, local food items or even homemade treats! The spending limit is $15. The box must also include something written. This can be anything from a note explaining what’s in the box, to a fun recipe…use your imagination!
-You are responsible for figuring out the best way to ship your items depending on their size and how fragile they are. (Don’t forget about flat rate boxes!)
-Foodie Penpals is open to blog readers as well as bloggers. If you’re a reader and you get paired with a blogger, you can choose to write a short guest post for your penpal to post on their blog about what you received. If two readers are paired together, neither needs to worry about writing a post for that month. *US Residents only please at this time- hopefully we can expand soon!*

If you’re interested in participating for January, please send  an email to Lindsay at theleangreenbean@gmail.com and include the following information:
-Your full name
-Your email address
-Your blog name/address
-Your twitter handle (if applicable)

All the cool kids are doing it….

About Nicole2112

A 30-something girl with a goal in mind and a plan to achieve it. Loves: movies, pop culture and her family!
This entry was posted in foodie pen pals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Foodie Pen Pals December

  1. hahaha this made me laugh 🙂 so sweet of your neighbors though! and glad the doggie was ok. those oatcakes sound heavenly!!!

  2. raceready says:

    Aw, so sad taht the package came through damaged, but I’m glad so many goodies survived. 🙂

  3. Tara says:

    Hysterical! And such a bummer, too. But at least some of it was still edible. Completely intrigued by the oat cakes. Heading over to the website right now…

  4. Laura says:

    I love those sun dried tomatoes! Use them for everything!

  5. Mac says:

    Bummer about the package, but a sweet gesture by the neighbor. Those oat cakes and sun dried tomatoes look yummy!

  6. alex says:

    too bad about your package!! but I’m glad to see those oat cakes survived!! yum!

  7. Oh man! It must have been a rough month for foodie penpals. So bummed you missed out on the chocolates, that dog got some really GOOD chocolates. But I am so glad you liked the rest of the stuff, particularly the oatcakes. I heart them. So good and so great that Effie’s has a website so you can stay fully stocked.
    Happy New Year!!!

  8. Kira Wood says:

    Fig & Black Tea preserves sounds really interesting!

Leave a Reply

