Heavenly Vacation Days

I live for days like this.

A rare day off during the week with my husband and my daughter.  It’s pure heaven.

How did we celebrate our independence from work and school today?  By doing exactly what WE wanted to do! All. Day. Long.

We started by sleeping until about 8:30.  I woke up and Tommy had already taken a shower and was on the computer with his coffee in hand.  I caught up to him and we talked about what we were going to do for the rest of the day.

But first, breakfast:

Breakfast of Oatmeal Squares cereal and coffee.

I was insistent that today was the day we were going to see The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo.  He knew I had loved the books and the trailers looked pretty interesting so it wasn’t too difficult to get him to come with me.

We left Ali at home to play her guitar and catch up on reading (her goal for the day) and we hit the 12:00 showing.

I made the joke on Twitter that we’ve come a long way from making out all through the movie when we were 15. Although I’d still be up for it if he wanted to give it a whirl! 🙂

Love this guy!

In short – the movie was fantastic!!!

One of the best movie posters I've seen - captures the feel of the movie. (source)

I thought that the movie followed the book pretty closely from what I can remember.  All of the elements in the book that I was curious to see on the big screen made it.  The ending was a tad different and a relationship that the main character had during the book was left out but I can understand why each of them were handled the way that they were.  The only thing that I didn’t care for was the sound levels in the movie.  There were a few times when the dialogue was too low and the music (specifically the bass) was turned way up. Perhaps it was the movie theatre or perhaps the sound editors sucked – either way it was distracting and I missed some key dialogue I think.

Regardless of that tiny issue the movie was freaking fantastic.  I can’t wait to see it again and I’m really looking forward to seeing Book 2 and 3 of the trilogy make it to the big screen with the same actors.  I might get impatient though and watch the other version of the movies but I really hope I can hold out.

After the movie we ran back home and picked Alexis up to take her out to an early dinner.

One of my goals for 2012 is going to be to really try to limit my visits to chain restaurants.  I would like to be more mindful of where ALL of my food is coming from – not just the food that I bring into our house.  Austin has a wide variety of restaurants that use locally sourced food and I’m going to work on visiting those specific restaurants more often.

We hit up Jack Allen’s Kitchen for some sweet happy hour specials.  All of their appetizers are 1/2 off during HH so we each picked out something that we wanted and we shared them among the three of us – and then I got a salad as well.

Salad with ranch vinaigrette which was ridiculously amazing!

Left to right - chicken nachitos, red chili fries and crab dip. I tried to limit my intake of everything but the salad. It was all amazing though.

For desert we all wanted a taste of something yummy so we ordered the “Strawberry Shortcake” which was everything you would expect from a strawberry shortcake but mixed with some cheesecake and topped with homemade whipped cream. To say it was just “good” is to say that the Green Giant was a “little” green. Holy cow!

Made in-house Strawberry Shortcake cheesecake. *drool*

Dinner was amazing but to be honest I felt completely ill when we left.  I think I’ve found another item to add to the  “Items not to eat in 2012” list – french fries. They did not agree with my stomach. At all. At least I think it was the french fries. No telling, really…

We got home and I set about to take the issue of our photos on our desktop computer.  They were horrendously out of order and needed to be organized. I got that done and feel amazing after. That was really bothering me but now I seem to have it pretty well in order.  Next I need to back it all up!

It was a perfect vacation day!  I enjoyed every second with my family.  They are watching Lord of the Rings (puke) so I’m off to sit with them by the fire and read a little from my book – Reshaping It All.

But first I have to leave you with a little picture of Ranger looking adorable tonight. 🙂

Tommy was holding his favorite toy up in the air and he had 100% of Ranger's attention. Look at that face!

What a cutie pie!

 

About Nicole2112

A 30-something girl with a goal in mind and a plan to achieve it. Loves: movies, pop culture and her family!
This entry was posted in alexis, dogs, eating out, food, movies, Tommy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Heavenly Vacation Days

  1. laura says:

    Ranger is so freaking cute!

    Glad y’all had such an awesome vacation day! You were quite the busy bee and got a ton done! I’m also glad you enjoyed yourself too.

    And I love your 2012 goal to eat at fewer chain restaurants! What a great idea and goal.

  2. Candi says:

    Toddlers & Tiaras but turn your nose up at Lord of the Rings. What am I going to DO with you?!!!!

    Love that you had a great day with the fam, yay! ❤

  3. this day sounds fantastic! so great to just go with the flow and do what you want! glad to hear the dragon tattoo movie was a good one – i hope to see it sometime soon as well!

  4. It sure sounds like the perfect vacation day! I’ve read The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, but haven’t seen the new movie yet 🙂

  5. Kira Wood says:

    So, I haven’t seen either yet, but it bugs me that America always has to remake foreign movies. Read subtitles, people!

    You and Tommy are super cute. Speaking of cute, does Abbey ever get jealous that Ranger is prettier than her? He’s gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

