My picture-less Christmas

I don’t know how it happened but I took not one picture this Christmas.  No pictures were taken on Christmas Eve, none on Christmas morning and none during our Christmas feast.  I am very disappointed.

We had a wonderful couple of days. We enjoyed alone time together and with the family and we put on a great get-together on Christmas afternoon.  I’m just incredibly bummed to say that not one person thought to pick up a camera and snap some pictures to capture the events as they were happening.

How does that happen???

I’m incredibly sad about it but I’m going to carry on with this update as if I have pictures to document the event.  Just go with it.

On Christmas Eve Alexis and I spent the day baking and baking and baking.  We made peanut butter balls, oreo balls, peppermint oreo balls, sugar cookies (complete with icing and wonderful designs) and pecan tarts.  We were moving around in the kitchen in complete harmony. You would think we had been doing this for years.  It was awesome.

** Enter picture of wonderful looking desserts here **

After the baking was complete we finished wrapping the families stocking stuffers and got dressed for Christmas Eve church services.

** Enter picture of Alexis and I dressed up for church **

The church we have been going to is very new and this was their first Christmas Eve service.  They did an amazing job! We invited several members of our family and they met us there and enjoyed it as well.  The service ended with a candlelight acapella version of Silent Night.  It was absolutely beautiful. I might have gotten teary eyed.  Typical.

After church we went over to my Sister In Law’s for dinner and present exchange.  All of the adults buy for the kids (Alexis and my two nephews) and then the adults draw names and buy for one other adult.  It has worked out this way for the last 4 or 5 years and it is very successful – and FUN!

Tommy ended up drawing my name in the swap which is kind of stinky.  Instead of him being able to get presents for someone else he got stuck with little ol me.  Poor guy. He was already having to buy for me.  He did very very good though! I scored a new Erin Condren iPhone cover and a gift card for new running shoes!  I’m so excited about both of those presents! Alexis got a slew of presents too – one of them included a new iPhone case of her own!

My absolute favorite quote. Now I can see it everyday!

Alexis with her new custom iPhone case. "Position is Nothing. Direction is Everything." So perfect!

After the gift exchange we went back home and unwound. It must have been a very exhausting day because we all fell asleep in front of the tv. Tommy finally woke up at 2am and ushered us all to bed.  Of course I had to put the finishing touches on the stockings and tree before I could go to bed. 🙂 My favorite job of the year!

Christmas morning was awesome. We took about 2.5 hours to open our stockings and presents.  We are all big on watching each person unwrap their present and talk about it before we move on to the next person opening their gift.  Any way to extend the experience is welcomed!

Tommy whipped up some breakfast tacos while I started getting dinner and appetizers ready for our guests that were going to arrive in a couple of hours.  I made a smorgasbord of goodies – both healthy and not so healthy.

We had a total of 12 people here for Christmas dinner.  They came hungry and I was ready for them.  We had stuffed mushrooms, a tray filled with broccoli cauliflower and carrots, deviled eggs, caramel popcorn, crackers with cream cheese covered in hot jelly and all homemade goodies that we made the day before. For dinner we had ham, mashed potatoes, olives, rolls and a squash medley.

** Enter picture of our counter & island covered with food here **

Our evening was a success!  People ate and hung out and ate some more and played poker.  It was great to look around and see everyone talking and having a great time.  Too bad someone wasn’t taking pictures. (Grrr….)

When everyone left around 8 we all sat down around the fire and crashed.  It was a great day but really exhausting. I definitely had a bit of a melt down when everyone left for the evening.  I missed my parents terribly and really wished that I would have at least been able to call them and wish them a Merry Christmas.  Don’t get me wrong, Tommy’s family is amazing and I love them but I miss my parents and my brother the most during these family get togethers.  I am glad that they are together though.

Now it’s back to work today and tomorrow then I’m off until the 3rd.  I’m so excited for the 5 days off of work. I plan on getting my New Years resolutions in order and getting my mind ready for a new year filled with new challenges and new opportunities.

How was your Christmas?  Did you entertain?

About Nicole2112

A 30-something girl with a goal in mind and a plan to achieve it. Loves: movies, pop culture and her family!
This entry was posted in alexis, holiday, Tommy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My picture-less Christmas

  1. Candi says:

    I think it’s great you didn’t take any pictures. Means you were completely in the moment and having too much fun!!!! I didn’t take many, though I did get a few. I really wanted family photos but I’m going to wait a few weeks and have a pro do them. 😉

  2. Kira Wood says:

    Awesome covers! Sad about the pictures 😦

Leave a Reply

