Regroup

It’s time to regroup.

Three weeks ago I started a new job and things started getting nutso. I’m working long hours and on top of that the commute is kind of a bitch.

I sit in this for an hour and 15 minutes every night after a very long day.

But instead of letting that get me down I decided as soon as I got the job offer that I would work the traffic to my advantage and use the motivation to not be stuck in traffic as my incentive to get up early, beat the rest of Austin to the streets & go to the gym close to my work.  That way I would be on the other side of town nice and early, workout as long as I needed to and then get ready and get to work on time.

It worked wonderfully for two weeks.

This week, however, I allowed personal things (read: emotions) to get in the way and I lost my steam. I lost my motivation.  I talked myself into dinner out several nights and then on top of that I got to bed late and did NOT have the energy/drive/motivation to get upwhen I needed to to get to the gym on time.

I know that I am always teetering on the brink of self-destruction.  I know that if I do not meal-plan and I do not go to the gym and drink the water necessary to feel good that my food choices will go down the drain. I will find a way to talk myself into eating what I shouldn’t be eating and that begins a spiral down into a place that is very difficult for me to get back from.

I wrote the following in an email to a good friend this week:

“I was doing awesome and kicking ass with working out and eating right and logging everything I ate.  Then the 1 year date of my mom passing away came and I allowed myself a day off from the gym and a day to lunch out and I talked Tommy into letting us go out to dinner as well at a place that I know is a set up for failure for me.  I indulged and I thought it would be okay to feed myself because I was hurting. I was doing a great job of working out – I had lost 15 pounds so far and I would get right back on the wagon tomorrow.”

Did I get back on the wagon the next day after I “allowed myself” a slip? No, I didn’t. I allowed it to go on for a week and it’s taken me this long to force myself to snap out of it.

So, in light of all of this, I’m regrouping and I’m recommitting.  I’ll be putting up my weight/measurement progress on a separate page tomorrow when I face the dreaded scale.  Not actual numbers but a goal tracker. I’m so looking forward to it. :/

So, back with the food pics.  Because I know you love them. Heh.

Banana Nut Barenaked Granola & Coffee. Mmmm...coffee

About Nicole2112

A 30-something girl with a goal in mind and a plan to achieve it. Loves: movies, pop culture and her family!
This entry was posted in eating out, goals and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Regroup

  1. zalary says:

    it’s so easy to get off track or let our emotions slide us into familiar bad habits. and I’m so sorry about your mom 😦 but I think it’s awesome you’re recognizing it and taking the steps to get back to recommitting! you rock.

  2. Candi says:

    Yay, glad you are posting again and getting back in the groove! Good pics FTW! Love you!

Leave a Reply

