Mondays Goals

It’s that time of the week again – time to look at what I want to achieve for the week.  I love this new attitude of mine. Looking at Monday in a positive light. Instead of seeing a full week of work ahead of me I’m choosing to look at it as the opportunity to make things better and achieve some goals!

Let’s see how I did with last weeks goals. They were:

Maintain a daily calorie deficit of at least 200 calories. Done! Even on my cheat day I was well within my calorie allotment for the day.  Go me!
Do cardio at least 3 days this week. I hit this goal and spanked it. I did 5 days of cardio last week!
Record a loss each week.  I lost a half of a pound this week and an inch here and a quarter of an inch there. I was very happy with the difference I saw this week.
Eat 3-5 servings of veggies per day.
I hit this with flying colors.  I felt incredible too even though that might just be all in my head.
Try one new healthy recipe this week.
I’m moving this goal to this week since it didn’t get done last week.

I was 4 for 5 goals this week. That’s not bad at all!

So, let’s see what we can do this week.  I want to continue the constant 3 goals that I set forth for myself each week:

Maintain a daily calorie deficit of at least 200 calories. To do this I can eat up to 1,550 calories per day.  This will give me a weekly calorie deficit of 1400 calories.
Do cardio at least 4 days this week. I’ll burn at least 100 calories this week.
Record a loss each week.  Duh.

This week I want to add the following goal as well:
Try one new healthy recipe this week.

******************************************

I’m having a heck of a time fitting in my strength training.  I hate that.
I get to the gym and do my cardio for 45 minutes every morning.  I then have 15 to 20 minutes to shower and change and get on the road to work.  This isn’t leaving me any time to fit it in.

I know that I could do it at night when I get home but I get home at 7pm and that’s after I’ve been gone since 6am.  I’m just spent and once I eat dinner I’m finished and can’t remove myself from the couch. That’s completely out of the question.

So, how do I get the strength training in? Cut out some of my cardio? I don’t really want to do that.  Plus, I am very self conscious about doing the weights in front of the guys when they are doing their heavy lifting.

I’d love to hear from someone who has some ideas how they incorporated their strength training in with their cardio. Help?

******************************************

SparkPeople log for today

Today’s totals:
Calories consumed – 1,455
Exercise minutes – 55
Calories burned – 330

What are your goals for the week?

About Nicole2112

A 30-something girl with a goal in mind and a plan to achieve it. Loves: movies, pop culture and her family!
This entry was posted in goals. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Mondays Goals

  1. Kira Wood says:

    It’s not all in your head – veggies are awesome 😀

    I love your goal of trying a new healthy recipe this week. We do something similar, with a new recipe each week revolving around a new ingredient: a spice, a veggie, etc. Forces me out of the revolving menu rut. Have you chosen anything yet? 🙂

    Your schedule terrifies me, seriously. Them are long days.

    • Nicole2112 says:

      I haven’t decided on my recipe for this week quite yet. Do you have one to recommend? I’ll probably make it Saturday night when I have plenty of time to cook.
      My schedule terrifies me too. I try not to think about it.

  2. Strength training is so important, so make time to fit some in like twice a week. Maybe cut cardio twice a week by 10 minutes and get some in there? Strength training burns off those calories, too! You’re doing AWESOME by the way. I may need to start making weekly goals, too.

  3. Allison says:

    I 100% second that – cut your cardio twice a week (just do a more aggressive 10 minute cardio workout) and get yo’ strength training in! MWF/TTh is always a good schedule to start with, I love having Mondays and Fridays as my heavy cardio/calorie burning days, since they are the portals out of and into the weekend 🙂 You’re doing awesome so far – GET IT GIRL!

    • Nicole2112 says:

      I think I just needed to hear that I should, in fact, cut down on some of the cardio and make the weights work for me. Now I just need to get over doing it in front of the rest of the people there at the gym. Or do it at home when I get there which sounds like torture after a very long day.

  4. Allison says:

    PS – um why is my avatar so scary? I need to fix that stat! Eeep!

  5. Ashleigh says:

    I mix strength and cardio. So for a 40 min workout I’ll start 5 mins doing the stairs, then do a circuit, do 2-3 mins on the stairs, do another circuit, and repeat until 40 mins is up. I do the stairs because it gets my heart rate up high for the short time I have and it works well!

  6. Katie says:

    If you belong to a gym, bootcamp-style classes are great in that your heart rate gets way up and you’re using your own body weight as well as light weights while you’re jumping around. It’s a little intense, but you really feel it the next day! If you don’t have a gym, the 30-Day Shred (Jillian Michaels) does the same thing, but you can work out at home.

    Otherwise, you could just warm up for 10 minutes or so on a machine (I like the stairmill for short and sweet workouts, because your heart rate gets up really fast) and then move on to 20-30 minutes of circuit training.

Leave a Reply

