Happy 17th Birthday, Alexis!

17 years ago I gave birth to my one and only sweet baby girl. I can’t believe it’s been that long ago. She hates for me to say it and hates for me to talk about her getting older but a fact is a fact. She is only one year away from being a legal adult. Oy vey.  She can officially buy a rated-R movie ticket now! 🙂  She is growing up!

I tried to make her day as special as possible and remind her all day long how special she is and how well-loved she is. I hope I did a good job!

I got up and made her some peek-a-boo eggs (as you can tell, we are big fans of this meal around here) and the three of us had breakfast together.  Around lunchtime I surprised her and delivered some flowers and balloons to her at school.  She was definitely surprised and appreciated it very much!

Flowers always make people smile!

When she got home from school & Tommy got home from work she opened her presents.  (My favorite part!!) She seemed to be surprised and enjoyed them all!
First up was a watch…

White Swatch watch was at the top of her list!

She also got a giftcard and a couple of shirts as well…

"Drop Psalms Not Bombs"

No birthday is complete with a cake.  This year she was craving a cookie cake.  So a cookie cake is what she will have!

The cake was bigger than her! Just as a cookie cake should be...

Smile with your mouth full, Tommy!

Note Abbey laying on the floor in full pouting position.  She was not happy she was being ignored during all of the excitement!

As you might have noticed we had presents and cake before we went to dinner. We are cool like that.  The cake was just so yummy looking and you could smell the icing. It would not be ignored and we weren’t really strong enough to ignore it anyway.  It was delicious! And good thing because we’ll be eating on it for days!

For dinner Alexis picked her favorite chinese restaurant – P.F. Changs. It’s definitely a good choice! I have spent the last few days looking at the menu trying to figure out which entree I was going to get. I was down to the steamed veggies or the salmon.  I was going to let my tummy pick for me at the last minute.

Alexis and I did the 4 course meal for two.  We started with egg drop soup. I noticed something was different about it as soon as they sat it down in front of me.

Egg drop soup!

The color was a little dark.  I took a bite of it and tasted the chicken broth right away. I asked the waiter if it was, in fact, made with chicken broth and he said it was and apologized.  No big deal – I should have asked when I ordered it. Bummer. No chicken broth for me, thanks.  I passed it over to Tommy and he liked it alot so no worries.

Our second course was crab rangoon’s which were a serious indulgence but not one that we can pass up when we go to P.F. Changs.  They are way too delicious!

*drool*

My entree was the Wild Alaskan Salmon with steamed asparagus and brown rice.  It was fantastic! So good I saved half of it for tomorrow.  Delicious!

Sorry for the dark picture - the ambiance was definitely low-light.

We made sure to take some pictures of each other while we were waiting between courses.  I never try to waste a good photo opportunity.  And when you have subjects this adorable – why would you?

I asked Tommy & Alexis to smile pretty for me – this is what I got:

So very cute. Damn near precious, I'd say!

But if you leave them sitting there for too long – this is what it ends up looking like:

This is actually how I prefer them. Funny funny!

After dinner they brought Alexis a mini-desert with a candle in it. So sweet.  Very low-key – just how we like it.

Happy Birthday, Alexis!

Tommy & I got a mini-desert as well.  Our second desert of the day. Woo-hoo! Who’s to say treats should only be reserved for the birthday girl? Ha ha!

Shot glass of heaven. "Great Wall of Chocolate."

It was a great birthday for Princess Alexis.  I think she really enjoyed herself, got some great loot and felt incredibly loved.  That means it was successful! And, we get to do it all again on Saturday with the rest of the family.  Lucky duck!

Leaving the restaurant.  A gorgeous view of the Front Bank Tower in the background. 

*************************************

I am astonished and amazed that I got through the birthday dinner and two (count them, 2!) desserts and was still within my calorie goals.  Granted, my fat was a little high but my calories were within range. That is fantastic and I’m so happy. I planned really hard for that to happen and it did.  I’ll take it!

SparkPeople log for today.

Today’s totals:
Calories consumed – 1499
Exercise minutes – 0

PS: I have an interview tomorrow at 1:45pm CST. Any good luck/positive vibes are extremely welcome. Thank you!

About Nicole2112

A 30-something girl with a goal in mind and a plan to achieve it. Loves: movies, pop culture and her family!
This entry was posted in alexis and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy 17th Birthday, Alexis!

  1. Ally says:

    Mmmm…..I love PF Changs’ crab wontons.

  2. Pingback: Thunder is not Abbey’s friend | Nicole On A Mission

  3. Pingback: Ali’s Birthday Part Deux | Nicole On A Mission

Leave a Reply

