Bad start but good ending

Today I had a very rough start to my day.

It started with feeling very rejected and led to me just being in an overall  down in the dumps type of mood.  I got to the gym about 10:30 with the mindset that I was going to work out my aggressions and sad feelings on the cardio machines.  Then, in the mirror in the locker room I saw myself.  And started to feel even worse.

I really hesitate to put this picture up here because I absolutely hate it but I have to be honest with myself – this is what I look like right now. I’m working, constantly, on trying to change it but this is the truth and that, my friends, sucks.

Can we consider this a “before” picture?

Don't let the smile fool you...

Granted, my hair is pretty cray-cray here but it just goes along with the whole “before picture” theme. I want to look back at this picture in 6 months and put it side by side to a new picture of myself and feel proud of the work I’ve done. That is what I see for myself.  Do you hear me, Nicole of March, 2012? Before and “during” pictures…got it?

On a positive note: I had a great workout! 45 minutes on the elliptical and 15 minutes of stretching and abs afterward. It was awesome. I spent the entire time listening to my favorite morning show on I Heart Radio and it really made the time go by fast.  I looked like a complete moron though, I’m sure, because they were doing a rap contest and the entire thing had me cracking up as I was gliding away on the elliptical. I’m sure I was a sight to see.

My mother-in-law invited me to have lunch with her and I absolutely couldn’t say no to that! We met at Panera Bread which is notorious for having high calorie food choices. I was smart though and had researched some of the healthiest options before I left the house this morning.  The Tomato & Mozzarella with the vegetable soup was rated as one of the best no-meat choices so I went with that. It was very good! See for yourself…

Whoops! I had to take a bite before I took the picture. I was famished!

Confession: I didn’t eat that apple there. It wasn’t organic and I’m kind of weird about my fruits that have skin being organic. I need a whole post on what I eat and what I don’t eat and why…

Alexis wanted to go to youth group tonight so Tommy and I took that as permission to go out to dinner just the two of us. It was really nice.  We picked a restaurant that we both like – BJ’s Restaurant and Brewhouse. It’s not the best food but it was pretty decent.

They now have a whole page of menu items under 545 calories. I was pretty impressed! I ended up with the shrimp tacos – they were very yummy!

We 70/30 split this salad. Tommy needed some greens with his pizza. He got the 70%.

Shrimp tacos - pretty tasty!

You can see that in the amount of time it took us to finish the salad they set the lights down to “romantic mood setting” in the restaurant. It was funny. We felt like we could barely see each other.  Not really the kind of restaurant that needed mood lighting but whatever. 🙂

At least the day ended on a good note.  Dinner with my husband can never be beat! Now I’m off to watch The X Factor. Simon Cowell back on my tv?! Yes, please!

************************************

I’m feeling good about where I am in my goals this week. Cardio has been on point and tomorrow is another strength day.  I feel good and totally in control.  That is nice.

SparkPeople log for today.

Totals:
Calories:
1496
Exercise minutes: 104

Question: How do you feel about your “before” or “during” weight-loss pictures?

About Nicole2112

A 30-something girl with a goal in mind and a plan to achieve it. Loves: movies, pop culture and her family!
This entry was posted in goals and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bad start but good ending

  1. Martha says:

    Don’t be down girl…because you’re awesome and you’re working at it!!! Keep up the good work! Love ya

  2. Ashleigh says:

    I’m happy your day turned around and got better!

    Great workout!

Leave a Reply

