For the Love of SparkPeople

It’s Monday – it’s the start of a new week and that makes me feel good.  I’ve been trying to re-train my mind to correlate Monday’s with new beginnings instead of the dread of the long week ahead of me.  I guess that’s easier to do when you don’t have a job to go to Monday morning.  Being at home and searching for a job and trying to eat right and keep the house together – I guess it’s easier to focus this way.

I made a list of some goals for myself this week.

1) Keep my food within calorie range –  My goal is 1200 – 1550 calories per day. I do not want to go over 1550, period.  According to my BMR this is a caloric deficit of 215-550 calories per day. I am going to strive to keep the rest of the levels (protein, carbs, fat) within range as well but calories is what my primary focus is right now.

2) Go to the gym  – I want to get to the gym to do my cardio at least 3 times before Sunday.  This will probably be the elliptical machine or the stationary bike  they are PF friendly.  Bonus: Burn at least 400 calories with each visit.

3) Strength training  – I want to do strength training (at home) at least 2 times this week. I’ll use either an episode On Demand of Gilad or some other trainer. Strength is important for keeping things tight when the weight is coming off. And this week it better be coming off!

4) Record a loss – I would love to see a loss of at least 2 pounds when I weigh/measure Sunday morning. More would thrill me but 2 would be stellar.

**These goals I will meet. Hide and watch.**

My food today was a good start for this.  For breakfast I made myself some of those Peek-A-Boo eggs! Yummmm!

Eggs/toast paired with orange juice since I didn't have any fresh fruit.

For lunch after the gym I had a tuna salad from the local sandwich shop.  No picture because my phone ate it. Boo!

For dinner I made tacos.  *drool* Black beans, cheese, pico and guacamole on a corn tortilla. With a tad extra on the side.

My favorite meal. You'll see this alot.

I’ve been using SparkPeople for longer than I care to admit.  I mean, it’s not their fault that I haven’t been following what needs to be done – that blame is all mine.  But for weight loss/maintenance they are incredibly motivating and their tools are so helpful and easy to use.
They have iPad, iPhone and web based interfaces that are all very reliable and fun.  When you do what you are supposed to do they give you a little pat on the back! See? This is my review of today.

They make me feel so successful!

This is what the iPhone app looks like when you hit all of your goals. 🙂 I love the “Woohoo!” for my fitness goals and the “Great work!” for my calories.  Makes me feel like a badass!

SparkPeople log for today.

Today’s totals:
Calories consumed – 1264
Exercise minutes – 58

What websites do you use for your fitness/calorie goals?
What are your goals for the week?

About Nicole2112

A 30-something girl with a goal in mind and a plan to achieve it. Loves: movies, pop culture and her family!
This entry was posted in exercise, food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to For the Love of SparkPeople

  1. Awesome, Nicole! Thank you for sharing!

    Inglath

  2. zalary says:

    did my comment from yesterday not come through last night? 😦
    that’s disappointing since i recovered my password and everything.

    i use MyFitnessPal and love it. It’s pretty similar to SparkPeople I think.
    My goal for this week is to try to be reasonable while visiting my parents. Easier said than done! 🙂

  3. Nicole2112 says:

    This one came through! Yay, comments!
    I need to try MyFitnessPal!
    Good luck when you visit your parents. I remember when I would visit mine there would be tons of overindulging…

  4. Pingback: Holy Bowly! | Nicole On A Mission

  5. Pingback: Successful goals | Nicole On A Mission

  6. Pingback: New Week – New Goals | Nicole On A Mission

Leave a Reply

