Tasty Tuesday

Today I ate well and kicked ass at the gym.  What more could you ask for? I also tried a new recipe and watched my portion sizes. I kind of feel like an animal right now. 🙂

For breakfast I wanted to try a new recipe. I’ve always wanted to learn how to fry an egg so I busted out the trusty iPad and searched for some egg recipes.  I found a video that showed me how to make “Peek-A-Boo” eggs. It sounded like so much fun so I tried it myself.  I was super surprised that it worked for me.  It was not only fun to make but very fun to eat too.  I’ll have to do this again and take pictures of the process. Until then – here’s the video I used to teach myself.  I left off the syrup for no other reason than it’s just gross.

Peek-A-Boo!!

I paired my creation with strawberries and coffee.  Mmm…coffee!

I made it a priority to get to the gym before I met a friend and my husband for lunch. We always say the night before that we need to do this type of a thing but actually following through and making it happen can change in the light of day. However, I was true to myself and packed my gym back with a change of clothes for lunch after a hard workout at the gym.

Lunch was planned for noon so I was out of the house by 10:00am and at the gym by 10:20.  As I walked up to the front door of the gym there was a note on the door that said the local cable network was there at the facility today shooting a commercial and by entering you are giving your permission to be videotaped and have your likeness used in the commercial. Interesting.  So glad I was in full makeup and the required clothing. Pft. Not.

But in I went – I had a date with a cardio machine. Cameras or no cameras.

Mr. Elliptical - I own you... (Please don't hurt me).

It didn’t hurt me in a bad way but we did get very close for 45 minutes.  It felt fabulous for most of it.  Sweating and gross and absolutely wonderful.  My feet held up on me and didn’t hurt more than I could stand the entire time. I was extremely pleased.  I made sure to thank them by doing plenty of stretching after the workout – at least 15 minutes. It helped – they have been feeling somewhat okay the rest of the day. I’m so pleased! I hope when I wake up in the morning they are still agreeable.

After the gym I met Tommy  and my friend for lunch at a local pizza joint – Austin Pizza Garden.  She had never been there and it’s our absolute favorite place in Austin for pizza so we had to introduce her.  For their lunch special they offer a salad and a personal pizza for like $8. How can you beat that?

My salad - with their house vinaigrette, small amount of cheese, tomatoes and olives. Perfect!

Personal size thin-crust piece of heaven. With black olives, artichokes and mushrooms!

It was absolutely yummy! I only ate half of my pizza and saved the other half for lunch tomorrow.  The only thing better than pizza is cold leftover pizza.  (Can I get an amen?)  The food was great and the company was even better.  It’s really nice to be able to see some of my friends during this time that I’m in between jobs.

I spent the rest of the afternoon having a snack…

Almonds (only ate a couple of these) & Stoneyfield organic probiotic yogurt. The best!

…searching the job boards and doing things around the house.  Alexis was going to youth group with her friend and Tommy was working late. When Alexis is off at group on nights like these I like to get Tommy to take me out to dinner – just the two of us. He had a bad day so we treated ourself to another meal out – just a quick one close to home.

We went to Flores for dinner – again, it’s close to home but not always the greatest when it comes to quality. The drinks, however, are stout and that was just what the wifey ordered for the stressed out husband.

At least it's close to home...

Don't be cranky babe - look at that tall drink!

I couldn’t find anything on the menu that would be within my calorie range for the day so I chose a couple of items off of the a la carte menu (I learned this trick from my friend Allison) – black beans, side of guac with lettuce and pico de gallo and some corn tortillas.

I did NOT have more than a couple of these…

Just maybe about 4. Or 8 but no more than 10.

Yummy black bean taco! I had 3 of these. Lots of protein!My black beans with the husbands fajitas in the background.

Had a very good day calorie-wise like I said.  I think mainly because I only ate half of that pizza for lunch! Ha ha.  Very pumped with the exercise numbers and going to bed a happy girl tonight.

Today’s totals:
Calories consumed – 1525
Exercise minutes – 60

About Nicole2112

A 30-something girl with a goal in mind and a plan to achieve it. Loves: movies, pop culture and her family!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tasty Tuesday

  1. Pingback: Successful goals | Nicole On A Mission

Leave a Reply

